It’s David Gergen’s world. We just live in it.

 

Lynn University).
David Gergen, chick-magnet (Credit: Lynn University).

Maybe you’ve seen David Gergen on CNN, talking about American politics. Maybe you though he was just another political TV guy. Boy, were you wrong. He inspires mad passionate crazy love on the part of women everywhere. Just ask Jessi Klein:

 

The moment I realized my feelings were more serious was in late September, right after the first presidential debate. Gergen was on for hours, and I found myself on the couch, riveted, a glass of Cabernet by my feet, hands wrapped around my knees as I leaned forward to capture every word, every thought, every—oh, be still my fluttering heart, was that a little chuckle?

And then all of a sudden my face felt hot. I was blushing. I was loving David Gergen.

How do I love David Gergen? Let me count the ways.

I love his low, quiet voice. That unmodulated buttery whisper that sounds like it’s elbowing its way past a cough drop that’s permanently lodged at the back of his throat. You know how Bed Bath & Beyond sells those white noise machines that help you sleep? And they usually make ocean noises? I want one that’s just David Gergen gently muttering about the economy.

She’s not the only one who feels that way. Check out her comment thread for even more Gergen-mania.  (“I found myself rushing for pen and paper to carefully spell out his beautiful name D-A-V-I-D G-E-R-G-E-N. . . . Thank you for recognizing the beauty of this amazing man.”)

5 thoughts on “It’s David Gergen’s world. We just live in it.

  1. Saw the clip. The questions were
    just as inane
    as Cindy McCain.
    (Sorry.)
    As for Gergen, he struck me as a thundering bore, automatically dealing out his blah, utterly predictable answers as he must have been doing for years. (Anybody who repeats the “Reagan/great communicator” crap has to be a moron.)
    I realize these are just kids hoping to join the other slick, plastic, made up commentators on T.V. where they’ll have writers to put words in their mouths. Even so, the interview seemed an exercise in fawning futility. Yes, they’ll make it in broadcasting, all right–will fit right in.

Leave a Reply

