Just like Ulysses, but about book illustrations

Arabesques from a 16th-century Koran
Arabesques from a 16th-century Koran

Written by Sydney-based “PK” (the P standing for Paul, the K being of unknown origin), Bibliodyssey is a blog devoted to the collection and display of the visual culture locked away in old books and only now being made available digitally by libraries and archives around the world. PK’s range of interests is stimulating and broad, covering the decorative arts of the late medieval Islamic world on one day, and the eerie but fascinating illustrations of 20th-century Louisiana artist Caroline Durieux on another.

Visit it. Bookmark it. Enjoy it.

One thought on “Just like Ulysses, but about book illustrations

  1. I have to tell you, of all the write-ups that I’ve seen over these last few years, your post title here is the most flattering and,in some ways, the most accurate. By that I simply mean that JJ & Ulysses are just about my favourite things and were influential in the way I approached my little online obsession. And that’s certainly not meant to imply that I compare myself to him at all, just, as you intimate with the title here, there’s something of an active mission to be as all inclusive asis sensibly possible, within the ambit of bibliodyssey’s purview, and to try not to miss anything. I blame Joyce for my lack of exercise too ;- )
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

