Banner image

A detail from Michael Kenna‘s “Cold Dog Decembrist Square, St. Petersburg, Russia, 1999”. “One of the foremost landscape photographers in the world”, according to Artworks magazine, Kenna is known for his use of hours-long exposures and his patient approach to understanding his subjects:

I am not a paparazzi photographer. I don’t run out to a landscape and snap a picture and run away again. I like to know a tree, quite closely. I’ll often spend a long time circling the tree, getting to know it. In a sense I talk to the tree. I try to be very respectful and I like to go back to that same tree two years later, five years later, or as often as I can.

– Michael Kenna, interview in Artworks (June 2007)

Michael Kenna, "Cold Dog Decembrist Square, St. Petersburg, Russia, 1999"
Michael Kenna, "Cold Dog Decembrist Square, St. Petersburg, Russia, 1999"

2 thoughts on “Banner image

Leave a Reply

